Post #17 – Things Happen for a Reason

22 Jul

Do you believe everything happens for a reason? Why or why not?

The phrase I hear a lot, especially from my friends, that, “everything happens for a reason.”  I always wondered since I heard it what do they mean by this phrase, and ultimately answer the question of do I believe that everything happens for a reason.

The meaning of the phrase everything happens for a reason really depends.

For people who follow the bible:

  • And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose. (Romans 8:28)
  • Be not ye therefore like unto them: for your Father knoweth what things ye have need of, before ye ask him.  (Matthew 6:8)
(Taken from Yahoo! Answers.  Note: check for validity please.)

For heathens like me, I think it is great and wonderful good people do good things and do one unto others as one to you.  However, I do not really see the point of a higher being in control.  I believe the higher being exists, but could care less what we do.   (My proof would be that there would be no sin in the world if the higher being cares).

Away from the religious talk, is there a reason for every single little thing that happens?  The question was posed again but this time asking if things really do happen for a reason.  I think the best comment that did not win the answer that everything does happen for a reason goes like this, “Things can be unexplained, but can be explained by the next person, therefore that statement will be true.”

In my view of the world, I do believe things do happen for a reason, but the question really should be are things explainable?  Does everything that happens for a reason have an explanation?

 

Leave a Reply

